More than 600 children from 26 schools recently descended on Sedbergh Preparatory School to take part in the annual South Lakes Schools District Trials. An event where, providing runners finish in the top 16, pupils progress through to the Country Trials on Monday 11th February, also to be held at the Prep School.

On a beautifully clear and sunny day, there was still no shortage of mud for the runners to negotiate as well as plenty of undulating ground and even a little bit of climbing. During this very successful and competitive day, each of the six races was won by an athlete from a different school. Medals were given out to the top three, along with a team award for each race.

Competition summary

The day started with the Year 4 Girls race which saw the Top 3 only separated by 5 seconds. Emmy Ranner (St. Thomas’ Kendal) came home first, followed by Julia Fielding (Sedbergh Prep A) and Bella Scrambler (Arnside National) in second and third respectively. The team prize was won by Sedbergh Prep A.

Year 4 Boys race was won by Tom Ashworth (Ambleside CE) who finished 15 seconds ahead of Jamie Osborne (St Martin and St Marys CE) in second with JoseffTancrel (Ghyllside) taking third. Osborne’s second place finish helped St Martin and St Mary CE secure the Team Award.

The Year 5 Girls race saw Sedbergh Prep A take first and second place, with Daisy Fielding finishing ahead of Daniela Brighetti. Lucy Murphy (Vicarage Park A) finished just behind Brighetti in third. Sedbergh Prep A won the Team Award by the slender margin of just 6 points.

Harvey Shaw (Lindale CE) came home ahead of the pack in the Year 5 Boys race. Blake Fleming (Leven Valley CE) and Leon Robinson (Heron Hill) pulled away to finished in second and third respectively. Ghyllside claimed the victory in the Team Award.

Kate Collin (St Mark’s, Natland) cruised to victory, an impressive 27 seconds ahead of second, in the Girls Year 6 race. Tink Longworth (Sedbergh Prep A) stretched away to finish second with Lara Smith (St. Thomas’ Kendal) taking third. It was a great race for St Thomas’ Kendal who had 3 runners in the top 5 and in doing so, claimed the Team Award.

In the final race of the day, Noah Wadsworth (Milnthorpe) led from gun to tape to take the win in the Year 6 Boys race. Simon Rugby (St Oswald’s) came home in second and a great finish from George McCabe (St Mary’s Kirkby Lonsdale) saw him take third. Another great performance from St Thomas’ Kendal saw then clinch the Team Award.

Sedbergh Preparatory School would like to send an extended thank you to all pupils, staff and parents of every school that attended. Without your support, events like this would not be possible.

Follow Sedbergh: