Sedbergh School boys’ hockey team set off for a sporting and cultural tour of Malaysia on Thursday 8th July. A group of 23 boys and three members of staff  departed early on Thursday morning and arrived in Kuala Lumpur this morning. 

Fixtures include Bukit Bandaraya, Victoria Institution, BKT Jalil Sports School, St John School, Sains Selangor School, Singapore U18s, Temasek Polytechnic. The team will visit Kuala Lumpur and Singapore, and Malacca; once the greatest and most powerful empire and sea port in South East Asia and home to the oldest Chinese temple in Malaysia.

The team will also visit The Forest Research Institute of Malaysia, Batu caves and Hindu shrine, Singapore Zoo, Sunway Lagoon Water Park, and Sentosa Island.

Martin Speight, Head of Hockey, said: “Malaysia is a new destination for Sedbergh School and it is one that we are all looking forward to. The high standard of hockey is well known and no doubt our boys will be challenged both by the opposition and the climate, and in so doing test themselves in a totally foreign environment. Off the pitch, Malaysia offers a culture, people and range of experiences far removed from the Yorkshire Dales and it is equally important that the players take full advantage of all this wonderful country has to offer.”

Headmaster Andrew Fleck said: “To adventure with friends is the greatest of opportunities and we know that our players will return with a wealth of shared memories a well as new cultural insight into a fascinating and varied country. Overseas tours are the pinnacle of school sport and a rich reward for those who have trained and worked so hard to deserve selection. We offer our thanks to sponsors, staff and parents who have made this opportunity possible.”

The team includes Seb Ball (H), George Barber (E), Dudi Brighetti (E), Michele Brighetti (E), James Carruthers (E), Cameron Dale (W), Giles Dobson (W), Harvey Ferguson (W), George Harry-Thornton (E), George Hill (W), Henry Holdsworth (SH), William Lewin (W), Bruce Long (H), Fergus MacMillan (SH), Rory McAneny (H),  James Milburn (E), Fin Emmerson Mullen (W), Alex Proctor (E), Harry Radcliffe (H), Sam Shewan (H), Ollie Steele (H), Sam Stewart (SH) and Ed Whitehouse (E).

For updates during the tour please follow @SedberghHockey

Follow Sedbergh: